Four steps to a delicious camping meal

camp_cooking

When I cook, I try to do one pot meals, quick to cook, water conscious and limiting the amount of dishes to wash.

There are options of prepacked already made dehydrated meals, but these are often expensive and not fitting everybody’s diets and let’s be completely honest : nothing taste better than your own home/tent food.

A basic hiking food list could be divided in four categories :

1/ Snacks and toppings :

berrynuts2

This is the raw food you’ll thrive on while on the walk for short breaks with no cooking involved. Just take it out of an accessible pocket of your backpack and enjoy.

Now the good thing is it can also be used for topping your meals, for your breakfast oats for example.

Here is a non exhaustive list of these munchies :

  • Nuts (almonds, mixed nuts, chestnuts, hazelnuts, cashew, pistachio, peanuts, brazil nuts, macadamia…)

  • Seeds (sunflower, pumpkin, buckwheat, chia, flaxseeds, sesame seeds, poppy seeds, hemp seeds…)

  • dried fruits (apple chips, banana chips, coconut flakes, dates, figs, mango, sun dried tomatoes…)

  • dried berries (dried cranberries, blueberries, goji berries, raisins…)

  • chocolate

  • chips, crackers…

  • shelf stable cheese/vegan cheese (under vacuum packaged cheeses/vegusto no moo, biocheese… )

  • * I also like making pop corn as snack or entree. even though it requires cooking, it’s prettry fast and delicious

2/ The flavoury base :

sauce

I’m usually going to cook my food in a stew, broth, sauce or soup. This way my main ingredient(s) will take the flavour of my flavoury base.

Alternatively, I cook my main ingredient(s) first, and add some magic towards the end of the cooking just like spices.

-I use little nalgene bottles for oils and sauces-

  • Instant soup, dehydrated soup mixes (so many options here, some already including pasta, noodles etc… but never enough for a big meal)

  • dehydrated vegetable stock (a must, I basically use it instead of salt)

  • bouillon cubes

  • curry pastes

  • tomato paste (in tube if I can find it)

  • tahini paste (for a creamy smooth finish)

  • pesto

  • Oil(s) (sesame, olive, canola, coconut, peanut…)

  • Sauces (maggi seasoning, soy sauce…)

  • nutritional yeast

  • powdered milk/powdered soy milk/powder coconut milk

  • Spices and spices mix (pre-mixed or DIY. I usually take mixed herbs, a curry powder mix of my own, garlic and onion powder, smoked paprika, mixed cracked peppercorns, chilli flakes)

3/ The main ingredient(s):

ingredients

This is energy. I try to choose stuff that doesn’t take ages to cook so it doesn’t drain all my gas supply while I sit there with my mouth watering. I also try to take things that puffs up that are less space consuming in my bag.

  • Legumes (dehydrated green peas, split peas, red and green lentils, beans… – these might require to be pre-soaked, just put it in a water bottle with water at the beginning of your day hiking if you plan to cook it for dinner)

  • grains :

          • Quinoa (multicolor)

          • rice (basmati, long grain, wild rice…)

          • couscous (super quick to cook and delicious)

          • wheat, millet, soy, corn, rye, barley… (pre cooked grains)

          • instant oats, grits (delicious breakfasts)

  • Noodles (rice noodles, ramen, soba…)

  • Pasta (angel hair, spaghetti…)

  • instant mashed potato flakes (this is gold)

  • flour, pancake mix etc

4/ Bulking it up :

foodBulk

Now I can decide to treat myself a bit by adding extra delicious things in what I’m cooking :

  • dehydrated soy protein (has the texture of meat and you can find it any size from mince to shnitzels)

  • dehydrated veggies (broccoli, cabbage, carrot, celery, zucchini… these are unfortunately hard to find, either buy online or DIY with a dehydrator or cook it in the  oven on really low with the door slightly open)

  • dried mushrooms (shitake, porcini…)

  • tofu (silken, firm, flavoured…)

  • dried fruits (apricot, mango, fig…)

  • peanut butter powder

  • honey

4 basic combinations, endless yummy recipes soon to be revealed

One thought on “Four steps to a delicious camping meal

  1. Was just having a conversation with my housemate this morning evening about hiking foods!!! Dehydrated is definetly the way to go!
    Peanut butter powder I have to try this!
    Fuck yeah Jeff!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

